Call for participants: Tempus IV

The fith call for proposals from Tempus IV has been published!.
Tempus is the EU programme that supports the modernisation of higher education in the partner countries of the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe, Central Asia, North Africa and the Middle East.
It contributes to creating an area of cooperation in the field of higher education between the European Union and partner countries surrounding the European Union.

The purpose of this call for proposals is to promote multilateral cooperation among higher education institutions, authorities and organisations from EU Member States and partner countries
with the focus on the reform and modernisation of higher education.
Tempus finances two types of action:
1) Joint Projects: projects with a ‘bottom-up’ approach aiming at modernisation and reform on an insti­ tutional (university) level. Joint Projects aim at transferring knowledge between universities, organisations and institutions from the EU and from the partner countries as well as between partner country entities as appropriate,

2) Structural Measures: projects seeking to contribute to the development and reform of higher education systems in partner countries, as well as to enhance their quality and relevance and to increase their voluntary convergence with EU developments. Structural Measures will be interventions designed to support structural reform of higher education systems and the strategic framework development at national level.

Under this call, national and multi-country projects can be financed.

National projects must adhere to national priorities which are established in close dialogue between EU Delegations and the relevant authorities in the partner countries.
— For national projects, proposals must be submitted by groupings of institutions involving:
— at least three higher education institutions from a partner country (in the case of Montenegro and Kosovo, due to the small size of the higher education sector, one university will be sufficient),
— at least three higher education institutions from the EU, each from a different EU Member State.

Multi-country projects must comply with regional priorities which are based on the EU’s policy for cooperation with the partner countries’ regions as identified in its strategic documents concerning the
neighbouring countries, those for pre-accession to the EU and those in Central Asia.
They are common to all partner countries within a specific region or they address a national priority which is common to each of the participating partner countries.

For multi-country projects, proposals must be submitted by groupings of institutions involving:
— at least two higher education institutions, from each of the participating partner countries (minimum two partner countries) involved in the proposal (with the exception of Kosovo and Montenegro
where the requirement is one higher education institution from each),
— at least three higher education institutions, each from a different EU Member State.

For Structural Measures, there is an additional condition: The Ministry/ies of (Higher) Education in the partner country/ies must be involved as partner/s in a Structural Measures project.

Eligible applicants:
Institutions and organisations which may participate in the Tempus Programme range from higher education institutions and organisations through to non-academic institutions and organisations such as non-governmental organisations, companies, industries and public authorities.

These institutions and organisations have to be based in the following four groups of eligible countries:
– 27 Member States of the European Union,
– 4 countries of the Western Balkan region: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia as well as Kosovo under UNSC Resolution 1244/99,
– 17 countries in the Southern and Eastern neighbouring area of the European Union: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, the occupied Palestinian territory, Syria, Tunisia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, the Russian Federation and Ukraine,
– 5 Central Asian Republics: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

Budget and duration:
The total budget available for the co-financing of projects is estimated at EUR 78,1 million (plus an additional amount of EUR 12,5 million for the Southern and Eastern neighbouring area, under the reserve that the relevant financing decision following the recent ENP review is adopted by the European Commission).
The financial contribution from the European Union cannot exceed 90 % of the total eligible costs. A co-financing of a minimum of 10 % of the total eligible cost is needed.
The minimum grant for both Joint Projects and Structural Measures will be EUR 500 000. The maximum grant will amount to EUR 1 500 000.
For national projects in Kosovo and Montenegro the minimum grant for both project types is set at EUR 300 000.
The maximum duration of projects is 24 months or 36 months. The period of eligibility of costs is expected to start on 15 October 2012.

Deadline: for Joint Projects and for Structural Measures: 23 February 2012, 12.00 (CET).
More info can be found here:

Read more: