EU Journalist Award 2011 - Together against discrimination

The EU Journalist Award – Together against discrimination! is the only journalism competition for print and online journalists focused on discrimination and diversity issues in the EU. Through the Award, the European Commission recognises journalists who contribute to a better understanding of the value and benefits of diversity and the fight against discrimination in the EU.
Entries will be assessed using the following criteria.

1. Topic
Entries must cover a topic that promotes the value and benefits of diversity and/or focuses on the fight against discrimination based on at least one of the grounds covered by EU anti-discrimination legislation (racial or ethnic origin, religion or belief, disability, age, or sexual orientation). Entries which raise awareness of discrimination based on several of the grounds mentioned above (multiple discrimination) are welcomed. Discrimination based on a person’s sex is also protected under EU legislation and can be covered in entries in combination with one or more of the grounds mentioned above. Important: this is an award on the value and benefits of diversity and the fight against discrimination so entries which concentrate solely on the subject of immigration are not eligible. Entries exploring immigration issues must, therefore, also deal with the value and benefits of diversity and/or the fight against discrimination based on at least one of the grounds listed above.

2. European Dimension
Entries should have a European dimension. This means that the subject tackled should be of interest to, or affect more than one, EU Member State. Alternatively entries could explicitly mention EU anti-discrimination laws.

3. Ability to hold the reader’s interest
Entries should engage the reader, make him or her think about the topic, and leave him or her wanting to read more.

4. Originality
Although the stories may not be new, the way they are told in entries should be innovative and able to inspire readers to think differently about the topics covered. Each story, as well as the journalist’s thoughts and ideas, must also be his or her own and not copied from other existing sources.

5. Quality of writing and language*
Entries should be fluently written and easy to understand, the structure or organisation of their content should be logical and effective, and the ideas used clearly expressed.

6. Objectivity, independent thought and respect for the ethical principles of journalism
Entries should not be influenced by journalists’ personal feelings or opinions. Instead journalists should be able to think independently and present a story in a balanced, impartial way. Any controversial points should be treated with neutrality and fairness.

7. Research required collecting information, resources and effort taken in the work’s preparation
Entries should be the result of research and the collecting of information and resources by journalists. They should show the effort put into this research through including different kinds of information and resources, such as quotes, statistical data and sources from both sides of the story.
• All entries must cover the Award’s topic and have a European dimension.
• All entries must be accompanied by a completed online entry form: [ ]
• All entries must have been published in registered media outlets from 18 September 2010 to 10 November 2011.
• All entries must have been originally published in either print or online media. This also includes publications produced by individual companies, associations or universities.
• The main editorial office of the media in which the entry was published must be based in one of the 27 EU Member States.
• All entries must be written articles. Photographic or audiovisual entries will not be accepted.
• Each entrant may submit up to three entries.
• Entries must be at least 3 500 characters in length (including spaces) and cannot exceed 32 000 characters (including spaces).
• Entries must be submitted in one of the 23 official languages of the EU. These are: Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovene, Spanish and Swedish.
• Entrants must be aged 18 or older.

Read the rules in full on:[ ]
Journalists taking part in the competition can win prizes worth up to EUR 5 000.
European Prizes: The European winner, plus the two runners-up, will receive prizes with a value of EUR 5 000, EUR 3 500 and EUR 2 500 respectively.
National Prizes: The winners of each of the 27 national competitions will receive a prize with a value of EUR 1 000.
Send your entry using: [ ] online form.
Journalists may be nominated for the award by another person. However the entry can only be accepted if the journalist has given his or her consent ([ ]download here the proof of consent form) to take part.
The competition closes at 12.00 (midday – CET) on 10 November 2011.
There are no entry fees.