Latvia to become Eurozone's 18th member

Latvia to become Eurozone’s 18th member

Yesterday, all Member States officially agreed that Latvia will be the 18th country to join the Eurozone on 1st January 2014.

Latvia will follow Estonia into the Euro area. Lithuania aims to join in 2015. “All three Baltic States are now either inside, or well on their way to, the economic and political core of Europe”, said Vice-President Rehn at the ECOFIN meeting.