MEDEA Awards.

The aim of the MEDEA Awards is to encourage innovation and good practice in the use of media (audio, video, graphics and animation) in education. The awards also recognise and promote excellence in the production and pedagogical design of media-rich learning resources. From 2010 to 2012, the MEDEA Awards are supported by the Lifelong Programme of the European Commission through the MEDEA2020 project.

Award Categories 2011

The MEDEA Award for User-Generated Educational Media 2011
This award honours the best entry submitted by teachers, students, learners, parents, professors, individual or organisational representatives in primary education, secondary education, higher education, adult education, vocational education and/or training.

The MEDEA Award for Professionally Produced Educational Media 2011
This award will be awarded to the best professional educational media produced by a professional company or semi-professional production unit such as a broadcaster, professional multimedia producer or publisher, professional web design company, audiovisual or media department in larger institutions or organisations such as universities, government departments, companies, multinational institutions and organisations, etc.

The special Award for European Collaboration in the creation of Educational Media 2011
This award recognises excellent educational media productions and projects that come about as a result of European cross-border collaboration and recognises the impact such collaboration can have in increasing understanding and enhancing the European dimension.

The special Award for Educational Media Promoting Volunteering 2011

This award will be dedicated to an educational multimedia production or project that promotes volunteering initiatives. All educational media productions, no matter in what format, be it website, video, game or interactive presentation, that illustrate, document or promote the commitment of the many people in Europe who work in their communities during their free time without being paid.

The special Award of the MEDEA Jury 2011
The judges may, at their discretion, present a special award to an approach or production in recognition of exceptional innovation in pedagogic or technical design.

Judging Criteria

The judges who evaluate entries to the MEDEA Awards recognise the primary role of effective and innovative educational design in the use of moving images with learners. This means that they will be looking first and foremost for materials and approaches that demonstrate original and successful use of media with learners to achieve clearly defined educational outcomes. The quality of the materials themselves is important as the judges will consider the following criteria, appropriate to the learning context:

• Pedagogical quality: quality of didactics and of communication. Is there a clear learning objective? Is it likely that the material will result in good learning?
• Use of media: the choice and selection of the type of media, the advantages of the media selected. Is the type of media chosen used appropriately and in an exemplary fashion?
• Aesthetic quality: attractiveness of materials. Is the style and design consistent and appropriate for the target users? Is the entry appealing and pleasing to look at and to use?
• Usability: the intuitiveness of the material. Is it easy to use the application? Is there support, a set of guidelines, the possibility of feedback or help?
• Technical quality: are there possible flaws in the system and/or compatibility issues? Is it necessary to have unrealistic or advanced technical knowledge to be able to use the system, etc.

Read more about the terms and conditions on: Prizes will include a MEDEA Statuette as well as equipment and/or software, details to be announced later.

Entries need to be submitted via the online submission form and sent to arrive at the MEDEA Secretariat via post, e-mail or fax before the closing date: 16 September 2011 (midnight). All finalists will be notified in the beginning of November and will be invited to take part in the awards ceremony taking place during the Media & Learning Conference 2011, where the final winners will be announced.

Learn more about the competition on the website (available in six different languages):